working title
working title
[AUDIO BONUS!] Chasing The Flow State Through Writing and More
0:00
-3:42

[AUDIO BONUS!] Chasing The Flow State Through Writing and More

My obsession with flow state continues

This was first published on my Medium account. Loved it so much that I’ve decided to create an audio recording of it. I hope you enjoy!

Some thoughts about what I’ve learned so far from starting a newsletter:

Writing is an act of thinking made public.

I don’t need a quote to confirm what’s already pretty obvious: Writing exposes a person’s brain. A trick I often use every time I find myself stuck on a difficult problem: I write about it. Everything from defining what the problem is to articulating, sometimes not very well, the big picture, it helps to truly (and I mean, truly) understand things from first principles. At the end of the day, words are the most accessible medium we have. It pays to master them. It pays even more to be brave enough & share them.

Networking as an experience, typically, sucks. Connection-building through content creation is a better, more superior alternative.

When you share a piece of you through the work that you do, you tend to put yourself in such a unique position for serendipity. Especially with the internet, user-generated data finds a way and it only takes ONE to lead you to that rare, like-minded person, a problem-ridden, design-starved startup, a future colleague or simply an accidental friend. I can attest to having encounters with at least one of these. Newsletters isn’t just a platform. It’s a bridge. A damn valuable one for people, if you ask me.

The ROI for writing is flow state.

Flow state is a fleeting moment, a little congested bubble of tremendous energy, a temporary state of mind. It is difficult to describe for people who don’t chase it, don’t want it or worse, do not care for it. In a nutshell, flow is a force that makes anything and everything possible. It is both internal and externally-driven. I can never get enough of this. Behind every post, draft or published, is a jolt of it. Clearly, it is more potent and more powerful than any other motivator. To me, anyway.

Write everyday, even if it is not easy. A message I told myself from day one when I was wrapped with anxiety, excitement, fear and a plethora of other emotions that come naturally with creative pursuits.

Outside of personal relationships, nothing made me feel more alive than this longterm relationship I have with words. I consider this a priceless asset.

Thank you for reading,

Nikki


🚨🚨🚨 PRO-BONO 🚨🚨🚨

MANILA, PHILIPPINES ONLY — Are you a student or do you know of students who need UX or Design mentorship? Looking to get into tech as a career path? I am willing to donate a portion of my time for free this Christmas for folks who need help. In general, for knowledge work (product, design, startups, innovation) categories. Exclusive for fellow Filipinos in the Philippines only.For serious inquiries only. Please get in touch: nikkiespartinez@gmail.com


Random media

A podcast episode I would recommend:

Lessons of Greatness: Finding Success With ‘Big D Design’ by Mike Maples Jr. — This was so good, I listened to it twice. A short monologue about design in the most holistic point-of-view: companies, team, lifestyle, self. It’s punchy, gritty and honest-to-the-core about what it means to really live a well-intentioned, well-designed LIFE.

A book I am currently reading:

Quiet: The Power of Introverts in World That Can’t Stop Talking by Susan Cain — Finally, after months of watching the author, Susan’s talks, I caved in and bought this amazing book. I’ll reserve a lot of what I feel about it once I’m done. Just to emphasize just how engaging this book is: it’s too powerful and tremendously thoughtful, it temporarily made me forget all the other books I am currently reading.


🎁 Give the gift of learning. I wrote a yearend post, a package of some sort, to summarize the best of what I’ve written this year. Whether you are a designer who cares about business, or you are a curious person who’s into design, there might be something here for you. Please check this out:

working title
#37: Best of Working Title, 2021
I can still remember the day I decided I was going to launch my own newsletter. Asking for permission, or the absence of, was all that was on my mind. I wanted a channel, a platform, a space where I can set free some of the conversations that are happening inside my mind. Of course, the ones I think people would mostly care about, and benefit from anywa…
Read more

Pro-tip: Know someone who might like or benefit from the contents of Working Title? Want to share this publication but don’t know which article to pick? #37: Best of Working Title, 2021 is the best place to start.

Have a happy and safe holidays, everyone!

Leave a comment

0 Comments
working title
working title
A podcast that explores the world from the lens of a designer. A deep dive on the intersections of the following topics: Technology, Writing, Human-Computer Interaction, among others.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
nikki espartinez
Recent Episodes